Clarifying the Spray Framework and Core Recipe

• February 3, 2024 at 6:36 pm #1844
    Nicky Schander
    Participant

Hi HON Members. My name is Nicky and I am very new to this. My husband took a workshop with Michael David Phillips and we have his books but I am always finding myself confused about the spray schedule. So what I did was to take some notes and turn them into an outline to simplify it for me. I am afraid it is too simple but it makes it easy for me to see what to do. I hope it might also be helpful to others. The following in particular is an outline for the treatment of Cedar Apple Rust. It references the overall Holistic Spray Framework.

Cedar Apple Rust (CAR)
    Issue: Serious CAR problem in a small home orchard with prevalent cedar trees
    Solution: GreenCure, a Potassium Bicarbonate-based organic fungicide, tested and effective against CAR.
    Application: Apply GreenCure during wet conditions, 6-8 hours after the start of rain for optimal results.`

<h3>Holistic Orchard Approach:</h3>
    <p><strong>Focus:</strong> Priming the immune function of the tree and introducing deep nutrition for competitive colonization.</p>
    <p><strong>Additional Methods:</strong> Alter leaf pH with products like GreenCure to hinder basidiospore germination.</p>
    <p><strong>Other Products:</strong> Armicarb, Kaligreen, and Milstop can enhance efficacy when used with an organic spreader/sticker.</p>

<h3>Spring Holistic Sprays:</h3>

<p><strong>Core Holistic Recipe:</strong> Fish hydrolysate, pure neem oil, seaweed extract, effective microbes/aerated compost tea. (See recipe below)</p>
    <p><strong>Timing:</strong> Applications during the quarter-inch green, pink, and petal fall, and seven days later.</p>
    <p><strong>Bloom Competitive Colonization:</strong> Essential to prevent fire blight, using Karanja oil, competitive microbes, seaweed extract, and blackstrap.</p>

<h3>Comprehensive Applications (Fruit Sizing Window):</h3>